The Kill Order by James Dashner – Book Review

The Kill Order

The Kill Order takes us back to the very beginning, thirteen years before The Maze Runner. The protagonists are swapped for Mark and Trina, who are on the run from the New York sun flares and have found themselves living in a small settlement near the small city of Ashville. They stay here until one fateful day when their lives change forever, thanks to an incurable disease known as the flare.

Continue reading

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins – Book Review


The Girl on Fire has survived two Hunger Games, which she will never be able to forget.  After being pulled out of the arena by the rebels, she is starting to realize that things will never be the same again – Katniss is now the face of the rebellion, inspiring the rebels in her new position as The Mockingjay.  Peeta is now in the capitol and, under the influence of President Snow, is trying to persuade the rebels to order a ceasefire. Katniss, however, will do whatever it takes to destroy the capitol. Will the Mockingjay flourish? Will Panem turn to her in their time of need?

Continue reading

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins – Book Review

catching fire

Katniss and Peeta are taking a well-earned break. After all, they have brought home a victory for District 12. Soon, Katniss considers the possibility of District 13, and thinks that the district is not completely destroyed, and there is more behind it. With Katniss and Peeta the face of the rebellion, they have to pull out the stops to make the rest of Panem fall for their ‘star-crossed lovers’ act in their victory tour. However, seventy-fifth Hunger Games can mean only one thing: the Quarter Quell is back. Everything changes when Katniss is told that she will have to fight again. Will Katniss pull through and prove that she has what it takes to rise above the rest?

Catching fire has not failed to disappoint. I was doubtful about it at first because I thought Katniss’s days of Hunger Games were over, but the story has been cleverly arranged so there is not one dull moment. This one isn’t as gory as its predecessor, because of the nature of the games. I also loved the twist at the end which makes you want to read the third book, which I shall definitely be buying and reviewing. The ending is clever as it has been left open for anything to happen in Mockingjay. All in all, I think that Catching fire should be read without hesitation after The Hunger Games!

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – Book Review

hunger games

The Hunger Games tells the story of sixteen year-old protagonist Katniss Everdeen. The story is set in the futuristic Panem, a land which has risen from the destroyed North America. There are 12 districts, the 13th of which had been destroyed after a rebellion against the capitol by the districts. As a harsh reminder not to step out of line, the districts have to present two tributes, a boy and a girl, aged between the ages of 12 and 18, to compete in the Hunger Games. The Hunger Games are a gory fight to the death, so only one tribute can survive. Will it be Katniss? Will the odds be in her favour?

Continue reading